2016-17 Premier League Is Here!

2016-17 Premier League Is Here!

2016-17 Premier League is finally here! The Premier League, as many know, is an English professional league for men’s association soccer/football clubs.  It consists of 20 member clubs that act as shareholders!

The Premier League underwent a transformation for this year’s season, with a name change for the English Premier League, to simply “Premier League.” The league also updated their logo to feature the famous crown-wearing lion, changing the colouring to a deep purple and featuring only the head of the lion (picture below).

Premier League Logo

The competition was formed in 1992, and, since its inception, a total of 47 clubs have competed.  However, only 6 teams have won the title: Manchester United (13), Chelsea (4), Arsenal (3), Manchester City (2), Blackburn Rovers (1), and Leicester City (1).  The current champions are Leicester City.  They won the title in 2015-16, much to the fans, league, and other clubs’ surprise!

This year’s league begins on August 13th, 2016 and runs until May 21st, 2017! Each club will play 38 matches, facing each team in the league twice – once at home and once away.  Most games will be played on Saturday and Sunday afternoons, with a few during the evening on weekdays!

Here at SoccerCards.ca, we’ve set up a one stop shop for all our customers! You can shop for the latest in your favourite club’s gear while checking up on the scores and standings for the league through our Online Soccer Community (under the “About” tab).  

Full List of 2016-17 Member Clubs (Alphabetical):

  • Arsenal
  • AFC Bournemouth
  • Burnley
  • Chelsea
  • Crystal Palace
  • Everton
  • Hull City
  • Leicester City
  • Liverpool
  • Manchester City
  • Manchester United
  • Middlesbrough
  • Southampton
  • Stoke City
  • Sunderland
  • Swansea City
  • Tottenham Hotspur
  • Watford
  • West Bromwich Albion
  • West Ham United


Leave a comment